Home

frankenstein_cover

I’ve been wanting to read Frankenstein for quite some time now and I’m glad I picked it up during the Holiday Break.  The “creature” or “daemon,” (I thought its name was Frankenstein this entire time…) is an iconic image that I’ve grown up with over the years!

Published in 1818, the literary style is flowery and dense with emotions, characteristic of the Romantic period.  My favorite parts of the book were the “creature’s” monologues.  A monster shunned by society for his hideous looks and enormous size, leading monster to commit a string of murders — it’s a great social commentary and an interesting look into nature vs. nurture.

What I found even more interesting was the life of Mary Shelley.  According to Wikipedia, Shelley had an affair with a married man and got pregnant with his child.  Her baby died prematurely, and she and her lover got married after his first wife committed suicide.  The couple was outcast by society.  Similarities to Frankenstein?? SCANDALOUS!

My rating: 3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

