Home

THE FOUNTAINHEAD by Ayn Rand

This is how I came to read The Fountainhead: I asked my friend if she recommended any books.  She said I should read Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand.  I asked my boyfriend if he’s heard of Ayn Rand.  He said yes and that he doesn’t like her.  I asked my roommate if she has ever read Ayn Rand.  She said yes and that Rand is “crazy” and “so good.”  Interest piqued.  I went home during Christmas break and saw that we had The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand on my bookshelf in my room (definitely my sister’s copy).  I shrugged it off as I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to read it or not.  I came back to New York City.  I was watching an episode of Girls and there’s a scene where Hannah shows up at this guy-she’s-seeing’s door and asks if she can borrow The Fountainhead.  Then I decided to read it.

Omg, perhaps it was fate, because The Fountainhead is a GREAT book.  It’s amazing because Rand is a pro at pinpointing and illustrating the multidimensional nature of people’s personalities.  There are some characters where I’m thinking “Wow, what a coward,” or “Wow, how are you such a good and bad person at the same time?”  I think her writing is powerful because it made me feel like she was exposing parts of who I was.  I was reflecting and looking inward nearly the entire way through.  Its affect on me was similar to that of Steinbeck’s writing in East of Eden.  Her characters represented people like me and people around me.  But the main character was untouchable.  He was inhuman.  And I couldn’t get enough of him.

Excited to read Atlas Shrugged soon!

My rating: 5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

  1. I say: “Down with Galt, up with Thomassoulo!” I just read the ultimate anti-Ayn Rand novel called BASTARDO, about a customer service manager named Bob Thomassoulo who gets outsourced by cheaper Mexican labor, but instead of taking it he does something. He goes to Mexico to ruin the life of the guy who took his job. It’s written as humor, and I don’t propose that, but when faced with all of this “Atlas Shrugged” style selfishness it’s a refreshing change to read something that takes Ayn Rand and Rand Paul to task.

Leave a Reply

