Home

les miserables book

Happy Friday!  Today, I went to Super Wings NY right after work to get some pineapple jerk chicken (5 pcs), mango salad, and sweet potato fries.  Then I kicked back on the couch with my wings, beer, and watched The Five-Year Engagement.  Best day ever?  Well the wings were dry and I was red after 3 gulps of beer, but the movie was surprisingly…really good.  Maybe I’ll do a film review later.

Anyway, I’m still working on reading my book for this month, so I figured I could write a review on one of my favorite books of all time.  I read Les Miserables by Victor Hugo during the summer after my freshman year of college.  That summer my family and I made a trip to Korea, so I read it on the plane, the trains, in the country, in Seoul, and pretty much during any free moment that I had to spare.

Despite its length and Hugo’s (at times) painful rants on French history and the revolution, I absolutely adore this book.  The prose is raw, fresh, honest, heart-breaking, and redemptive.  Although I did enjoy the movie-musical, no adaptation can capture Jean Valjean’s inner thoughts, his battles with himself, and the mind-blowing forgiveness he receives and in turn gives away like Hugo did.  Valjean’s relationship with Cosette is unconditional love in pure form, and it literally brought tears to my eyes while sitting on a Korean farm.  This book is a must-read classic.  Abridged version would be just fine.

My rating: 5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

