Home

9780743247542_custom-s6-c10

In middle school, I read my first memoir: Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt.  This book changed my life.  One reason it changed my life is probably because for the first time in my life, I was exposed to a reality completely and dramatically different from my own  There is so much I don’t know about the world, I thought.  This was someone’s true story.  I was mind-blown, and from that day forth, I dug up and read as many memoirs as I could.  In 2010, I read The Glass Castle, and from all the memoirs I’ve read, this one is my all-time favorite.

This is a true story about Jeannette Walls and her three siblings growing up with their extremely eccentric parents.  I mean “extremely eccentric” is an understatement.  They bounce around from town to town, living in deserts, living in extreme poverty, and living under their parents’ (dare I say) unprecedented parenting methods.  Her parents are unconventional, radical, and their minds are somewhere other than this world.  Walls shares her story simply, with love, and it’s hilarious every step of the way.  Every time I see this book on sale, I try to think of who I want to buy it for.  If you haven’t read this book, I’d put it at the top of my list!

My rating: 5/5 stars

What memoirs would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

