Home

white teeth

So this is a best-selling novel by Zadie Smith.  It’s critically-acclaimed and won a bunch of awards.  I didn’t like it.  The characters were too foreign to me and they stayed that way.  In order for me to get hooked on a book, there needs to be something about it that makes me want more.  It could be the plot, or the character development, or the general humanness that we share.  But the entire time I felt like an outsider looking into a fish bowl, not knowing where this was going.  For that, I’m sorry to say that I wouldn’t recommend it to others.

My rating: 2/5 stars

7 thoughts on “White Teeth by Zadie Smith

  1. I love memoirs (e.g. The Glass Castle), classics (e.g. John Steinbeck), fiction (e.g. The Kite Runner)…I did not like Everything is Illuminated…I thought that was impossible to read. I read the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series…but I would never read the Twilight series hahah!

Leave a comment